Search Results: lost-for-words-if-you-loved-the-keeper-of-lost-things-youll-love-this

The Lost for Words Bookshop

A Novel

Author: Stephanie Butland

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1250124549

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 3491

The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for all book lovers. "In The Lost for Words Bookshop, Stephanie Butland has created a bibliophile's delight. Witty and irreverent, funny and sad, this is a charming tribute to stories on the page and in our lives--and the powers they can hold over us."—Matthew Sullivan author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore "Burns fiercely with love and hurt. A rare and beautiful novel."—Linda Green, bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never, ever show you. Into her hiding place - the bookstore where she works - come a poet, a lover, and three suspicious deliveries. Someone has found out about her mysterious past. Will Loveday survive her own heartbreaking secrets?

Mr. Peardews Sammlung der verlorenen Dinge

Roman

Author: Ruth Hogan

Publisher: Ullstein Buchverlage

ISBN: 3843714703

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 1124

Charmant, außergewöhnlich und liebenswert. Machen Sie sich mit Mr. Peardew auf die Suche nach verlorenen Dingen. Jeder Gegenstand, den Anthony Peardew auf der Straße findet, hat eine Geschichte. Er sammelt und archiviert sie alle in seinem gediegenen viktorianischen Haus und plant, sie eines Tages an ihre ursprünglichen Besitzer zurückzugeben. Denn er selbst sieht sich nur als Hüter der verlorenen Dinge. Vor Jahren hat er selbst etwas verloren, das er seitdem auf seinen Streifzügen sucht: ein Schmuckstück. Es gehörte seiner großen Liebe, und das Medaillon verbindet sie noch immer mit ihm. Anthony muss diese besondere Aufgabe jedoch an seine Erbin Laura weitergeben, ohne ihr von dem großen Geheimnis erzählt zu haben, das seine Sammlung umgibt.

The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae

Author: Stephanie Butland

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN: 1785764411

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 6771

If you loved LOST FOR WORDS, ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE and THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS you'll love this. 'I love it so much. Moving, funny, romantic. Utterly engaging . . . impossible to put down' Katie Fforde Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She's only a few months past the heart transplant that - just in time - saved her life. Life should be a joyful adventure. But . . . Her relationship with her mother is at breaking point and she wants to find her father. Have her friends left her behind? And she's felt so helpless for so long that she's let polls on her blog make her decisions for her. She barely knows where to start on her own. Then there's Lennox. Her best friend and one time lover. He was sick too. He didn't make it. And now she's supposed to face all of this without him. But her new heart is a bold heart. She just needs to learn to listen to it . . . Have you read LOST FOR WORDS, which readers are calling 'the best book of 2017'? Search 9781785762604.

Ich treffe dich zwischen den Zeilen

Roman

Author: Stephanie Butland

Publisher: Knaur eBook

ISBN: 3426442884

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 4703

Ein Buch, das einen so schnell nicht mehr loslässt: Stephanie Butlands herzergreifender Roman erzählt vom Wunder der Liebe und von der heilenden Kraft der Literatur. Mit Piercings und tiefschwarz gefärbten Haaren versucht Loveday, die Welt von sich fern zu halten. Sie ist ein wahrer Büchernarr, umgibt sich lieber mit Literatur als mit Menschen und trägt die Anfangssätze ihrer Lieblingsromane als Tattoos auf dem Körper. Wirklich wohl fühlt sie sich nur in Archies Antiquariat. Der alte Mann hat ihr nicht nur einen Job gegeben, er akzeptiert sie vor allem, ohne Fragen zu stellen. Als Loveday Nathan kennenlernt, scheint ihre Welt heller zu werden: Er nimmt sie mit zu einem Poetry-Slam, und die Gedichte öffnen beiden einen Weg, sich die Dinge mitzuteilen, für die ihnen sonst die Worte fehlen. Zwischen den beiden entwickelt sich eine zarte Liebe. Doch dann werden im Antiquariat Bücher für Loveday abgegeben, die sie zurück in ihre Kindheit führen und schmerzhafte Erinnerungen an eine Familientragödie wecken, die sie nur zu gerne weiter verdrängt hätte. Kann sie mit Archies und Nathans Hilfe endlich mit der Vergangenheit Frieden schließen und über die Ereignisse hinwegkommen, die ihr Leben so sehr erschüttert haben? Ein wunderschöner Roman über Familie, Liebe, Verlust und Vergangenheitsbewältigung mithilfe der besonderen Kraft der Literatur.

The Keeper of Lost Things

winner of the Richard & Judy Readers' Award and Sunday Times bestseller

Author: Ruth Hogan

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1473635497

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 4251

WINNER OF RICHARD AND JUDY AUTUMN BOOK CLUB 2017 - 'One of the most charming novels either of us has read. Don't lose it. Keep it' Richard & Judy* *The perfect holiday read, recommended by thousands of readers* *One of the Mail on Sunday's 'Best books for the beach this summer'* Meet the 'Keeper of Lost Things'... Once a celebrated author of short stories now in his twilight years, Anthony Peardew has spent half his life collecting lost objects, trying to atone for a promise broken many years before. Realising he is running out of time, he leaves his house and all its lost treasures to his assistant Laura, the one person he can trust to fulfil his legacy and reunite the thousands of objects with their rightful owners. But the final wishes of the 'Keeper of Lost Things' have unforeseen repercussions which trigger a most serendipitous series of encounters... 'The first book I read in 2017 - and if another as good comes along in the next 12 months, I'll eat my special gold reviewing spectacles' Daily Mail And if you loved The Keeper of Lost Things, don't miss Ruth Hogan's second novel The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes, which is out now

The Keeper of Lost Things

Author: Jamie Campbell

Publisher: Jamie Campbell

ISBN: N.A

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 300

View: 3643

Someone lost her a long time ago. Do you ever wonder what happens to all the things that are lost? Em Gabrielle does. Not only does she think about it, it is her obsession. Finding and rescuing objects everyone else loses is the only thing keeping the sixteen year old going. When the father that walked out on her ten years earlier is suddenly reported missing, Em tries to resist the urge to find him. After all, he is just another lost thing, right? As she delves deeper and deeper into the case, she quickly works out that the stakes in this case are higher than ever. Finding the lost thing has never been so personal or difficult before. If Em finds her father, does that mean she can be found too? In the first of the Keeper Series, meet the first of the damaged residents of Lakeside. You might never think the same way about things again. Also in the Keeper Series: The Keeper of Lost Things The Keeper of Secret Things The Keeper of Broken Things

Proverbs and Song of Solomon

Author: H. A. Ironside

Publisher: Kregel Academic

ISBN: 0825497396

Category: Religion

Page: 358

View: 4748

This classic commentary series from one of the most creative and articulate expositors of the twentieth century is being reissued for a new generation.

The Author of Love

Understanding a Misunderstood God

Author: Joc Anderson, PsyD.

Publisher: WestBowPress

ISBN: 144970803X

Category: Religion

Page: 384

View: 5511

Throughout history, God has been depicted variously as a judgmental tyrant, a grand conciliator, and even as a rather low-key comic, portrayed by the cigar-smoking George Burns in the movie “Oh God!” The question that’s begging to be answered is: Who is God? This devotional evolved out of one person’s desire to portray God in a truer light. In the Book of Job, God reprimanded Job’s friends for failing to speak truthfully about Him. They misrepresented His character. Job, on the other hand, understood His Maker and was, therefore, the single voice of truth in an otherwise corrupt world. Can you honestly say that you know your Creator? Can you speak truthfully about Him? This devotional will help you get to know the real God, who is neither the judgmental tyrant nor the light-weight movie character. He is, if nothing else, a God of love and compassion. At the conclusion of your devotionals, I have formulated a “Love Quotient” (L.Q.) test to measure the depth of your love. The questions are designed to be thought-provoking and insightful. You may also find them a bit daunting and uncomfortable. Answer each question according to your beliefs. There are no wrong or right answers. It is my hope you’ll find this little exercise revealing and instructive of how you love. The answers and Key is also included. Your heart is what you’re all about. May you understand God’s love for you.

The Parliamentary History of England, from the Earliest Period to the Year 1803

From which Last-mentioned Epoch it is Continued Downwards in the Work Entitled "Hansard's Parliamentary Debates".

Author: William Cobbett

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Great Britain

Page: N.A

View: 2274

Cobbett's Complete Collection of State Trials and Proceedings for High Treason

And Other Crimes and Misdemeanor from the Earliest Period to the Present Time ... from the Ninth Year of the Reign of King Henry, the Second, A.D.1163, to ... [George IV, A.D.1820]

Author: Thomas Bayly Howell,Thomas Jones Howell

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Law reports, digests, etc

Page: N.A

View: 8018

Morning by Morning for Graduates

Author: Charles Haddon Spurgeon

Publisher: Hendrickson Publishers

ISBN: 1598566857

Category: Religion

Page: 384

View: 8299

Spurgeon has penned meditations, expressed simply but eloquently, that continue to draw readers to faith and obedience. This edition of his classic daily devotional is targeted specifically to students and graduates, who will appreciate his wise and timeless counsel. Special Features - A new topical index helps readers discover Spurgeon's thoughts on various topics important to Christian life. - An index of texts lets readers find what Spurgeon had to say about a particular Bible verse.

A Complete Collection of State Trials and Proceedings for High Treason and Other Crimes and Misdemeanors from the Earliest Period to the Year 1783, with Notes and Other Illustrations

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Trials

Page: N.A

View: 4419

Immer wieder du und ich

Author: Juliet Ashton

Publisher: Rowohlt Verlag GmbH

ISBN: 3644552916

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 9977

Ein Roman über die Liebe. Über die kleinen und großen Abenteuer des Lebens. Und über zwei, die sich lieben, aber immer wieder verpassen. Kate liebt Charlie. Charlie liebt Kate. Das war schon immer so. Sie sind füreinander geschaffen. Aber es ist kompliziert: Denn stets ist Charlie gerade vergeben, wenn Kate bereit ist. Und umgekehrt. Immer wieder kreuzen sich ihre Wege, auf Partys, Hochzeiten und Beerdigungen. Vergessen können Kate und Charlie einander nicht. Aber ist es nicht irgendwann zu spät für die große Liebe? Oder bietet ihnen das Leben noch eine zweite Chance? Nach dem großen Erfolg von «Ein letzter Brief von dir» der neue, berührende Roman von Juliet Ashton

Appletons' Journal of Literature, Science and Art

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 1228

The Parliamentary History of England from the Earliest Period to the Year 1803

From which Last-mentioned Epoch it is Continued Downwards in the Work Entitled "The Parliamentary Debates"

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Great Britain

Page: N.A

View: 4542

Family Herald

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 7790

The Seed Gatherers

Author: Inge Meldgaard

Publisher: Inge Meldgaard

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 321

View: 9642

In the year 2457, in the Dandenong Ranges, on the outskirts of Melbourne, Australia, a crime is committed by two young Norwegians that affects the entire community. If caught, Yngwie and his friend Torleif, who are expert communication systems hackers, must answer to the Federation Special Investigation Unit. Others use the event as inspiration, plunging the forests and its people into chaos. The lives of scientists, forest guardians and seed gatherers are placed at risk, as are their cats – remarkable creatures bred in special centres and able to influence human emotions. Meanwhile, a new and intriguing forest inhabitant is discovered and those who know of its existence must decide whether to reveal its secret. In this third book of the series, that began with ‘The Cicada’, followed by ‘A Death In The Making’, the story gradually links back to earlier, unresolved questions and continues to explore the relationship between the main characters and their feline companions.

The Owl Keeper

Author: Christine Brodien-Jones

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 9780375895906

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 320

View: 4482

Maxwell Unger has always loved the night. He used to do brave things like go tramping through the forest with his gran after dark. He loved the stories she told him about the world before the Destruction—about nature, and books, and the silver owls. His favorite story, though, was about the Owl Keeper. According to Max’s gran, in times of darkness the Owl Keeper would appear to unite owls and sages against the powers of the dark. Gran is gone now, and so are her stories of how the world used to be. Max is no longer brave. The forest is dangerous, the books Gran had saved have been destroyed, and the silver owls are extinct. At least that’s what the High Echelon says. But Max knows better. Maxwell Unger has a secret. And when a mysterious girl comes to town, he might just have to start being brave again. The time of the Owl Keeper, Gran would say, is coming soon. From the Hardcover edition.

Laugh it Off Annual

South African Youth Culture

Author: Justin Nurse,Chris Verrijdt

Publisher: Juta and Company Ltd

ISBN: 9781919930442

Category: Popular culture

Page: 110

View: 4929

A lively collection of the greatest hits and near misses of all that was truly South African in 2003 -- whether a song, cartoon, installation, design or photo -- by some of the best of the country's young creative talent. Includes Karen Zoid, Tumi Molekane, Zapiro, Pieter-Dirk Uys and Zackie Achmat.

Of Cowards and Heroes

Author: John A. Lang

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1483687430

Category: History

Page: 65

View: 7065

Augustin Kalivota, a 19-year-old man from Czechoslovakia, who is living with his paternal uncle and aunt, is looking for a job in America, but cannot because he has not a birth certifi cate for a fi re destroyed it in 1950. Additionally, he is curious as to whether or not his parents were involved in the resistance movement during World War 2. He must now return to Czechoslovakia not only to obtain a copy of his birth certifi cate, but also to fi nd out the truth about his parents whom his uncle and aunt despise.

Find eBook