Search Results: lost-for-words-if-you-loved-the-keeper-of-lost-things-youll-love-this

The Lost for Words Bookshop

A Novel

Author: Stephanie Butland

Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

ISBN: 1250124549

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 4099

The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for all book lovers. "In The Lost for Words Bookshop, Stephanie Butland has created a bibliophile's delight. Witty and irreverent, funny and sad, this is a charming tribute to stories on the page and in our lives--and the powers they can hold over us."—Matthew Sullivan author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore "Burns fiercely with love and hurt. A rare and beautiful novel."—Linda Green, bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never, ever show you. Into her hiding place - the bookstore where she works - come a poet, a lover, and three suspicious deliveries. Someone has found out about her mysterious past. Will Loveday survive her own heartbreaking secrets?

The Keeper of Lost Things

A Novel

Author: Ruth Hogan

Publisher: William Morrow

ISBN: 9780062473530

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 1479

A charming, clever, and quietly moving debut novel of of endless possibilities and joyful discoveries that explores the promises we make and break, losing and finding ourselves, the objects that hold magic and meaning for our lives, and the surprising connections that bind us. Lime green plastic flower-shaped hair bobbles—Found, on the playing field, Derrywood Park, 2nd September. Bone china cup and saucer—Found, on a bench in Riveria Public Gardens, 31st October. Anthony Peardew is the keeper of lost things. Forty years ago, he carelessly lost a keepsake from his beloved fiancée, Therese. That very same day, she died unexpectedly. Brokenhearted, Anthony sought consolation in rescuing lost objects—the things others have dropped, misplaced, or accidently left behind—and writing stories about them. Now, in the twilight of his life, Anthony worries that he has not fully discharged his duty to reconcile all the lost things with their owners. As the end nears, he bequeaths his secret life’s mission to his unsuspecting assistant, Laura, leaving her his house and and all its lost treasures, including an irritable ghost. Recovering from a bad divorce, Laura, in some ways, is one of Anthony’s lost things. But when the lonely woman moves into his mansion, her life begins to change. She finds a new friend in the neighbor’s quirky daughter, Sunshine, and a welcome distraction in Freddy, the rugged gardener. As the dark cloud engulfing her lifts, Laura, accompanied by her new companions, sets out to realize Anthony’s last wish: reuniting his cherished lost objects with their owners. Long ago, Eunice found a trinket on the London pavement and kept it through the years. Now, with her own end drawing near, she has lost something precious—a tragic twist of fate that forces her to break a promise she once made. As the Keeper of Lost Objects, Laura holds the key to Anthony and Eunice’s redemption. But can she unlock the past and make the connections that will lay their spirits to rest? Full of character, wit, and wisdom, The Keeper of Lost Things is heartwarming tale that will enchant fans of The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, Garden Spells, Mrs Queen Takes the Train, and The Silver Linings Playbook.

The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae

Author: Stephanie Butland

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN: 1785764411

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 804

If you loved LOST FOR WORDS, ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE and THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS you'll love this. 'I love it so much. Moving, funny, romantic. Utterly engaging . . . impossible to put down' Katie Fforde Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She's only a few months past the heart transplant that - just in time - saved her life. Life should be a joyful adventure. But . . . Her relationship with her mother is at breaking point and she wants to find her father. Have her friends left her behind? And she's felt so helpless for so long that she's let polls on her blog make her decisions for her. She barely knows where to start on her own. Then there's Lennox. Her best friend and one time lover. He was sick too. He didn't make it. And now she's supposed to face all of this without him. But her new heart is a bold heart. She just needs to learn to listen to it . . . Have you read LOST FOR WORDS, which readers are calling 'the best book of 2017'? Search 9781785762604.

Keeper of the Lost Cities

Author: Shannon Messenger

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1442445947

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 488

View: 1430

At age twelve, Sophie learns that the remarkable abilities that have always caused her to stand out identify her as an elf, and after being brought to Eternalia to hone her skills, discovers that she has secrets buried in her memory for which some would kill.

The Lost Art of Letter Writing

Author: Menna van Praag

Publisher: Allison & Busby Ltd

ISBN: 0749021055

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 5968

In a forgotten nook of Cambridge a little shop stands where thousands of sheets of beautiful paper and hundreds of exquisite pens wait for the next person who, with Clara Cohen’s help, will express the love, despair and desire they feel to correspondents alive, estranged or dead. Clara knows better than most the power a letter can have to turn a person’s life around, so when she discovers a cache of wartime love letters, she follows them on the start of on a profound journey of her own.

Legend of the Book Keeper

Author: Daniel Blackaby

Publisher: Elevate Publishing

ISBN: 1937498050

Category: Fiction

Page: 414

View: 6892

The Most Ordinary of Boys... The Most Extraordinary of Books... When the two collide, a destiny is set into motion which cannot be undone. Without warning, a secretive cult emerges ready to kill, and a horrifying Beast appears in the dead of night - craving to devour the Keeper of the Book. Suddenly, Cody Clemenson is forced to flee with his best friend Jade. Their journey will lead them to mystical locations and thrust them into uncharted lands, where an ancient feud between two long-lost cities is teetering on the brink of war. Will Cody rise to the occasion and become the hero he's always dreamt of being? Or will he succumb to the power of the evil empire? The fate of the world now hinges on him - and the cryptic words written in a simple, leather Book... A Power Long Maintained - Now Faded, A Secret Long Kept - Soon Unveiled, A City Long Lost - Ready to Be Found.

Get Lost

Your Guide to Finding True Love

Author: Dannah Gresh

Publisher: WaterBrook

ISBN: 0307730646

Category: Religion

Page: 192

View: 8405

Have you ever ditched a friend for a guy? Filled your journal with more thoughts about guys than God? Found yourself jealous because that other girl gets all the dates? Maybe it’s time to get lost—in God. Discover how to get so lost in God that a guy has to seek Him to find you. Dannah Gresh traces God’s language of love through Scripture to help you pursue your heart’s deepest desires and seek love the way God designed it to be. Because once you identify your true longings and let God answer them, you’ll know just how to respond when romantic love comes along. With a guided ten-day Love Feast Challenge, Get Lost will help you see for yourself how getting lost in God opens the door to lifelong fulfillment.

The Secret of Lost Things

Author: Sheridan Hay

Publisher: Anchor

ISBN: 0307389510

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 9695

Eighteen years old and completely alone, Rosemary arrives in New York from Tasmania with little other than her love of books and an eagerness to explore the city. Taking a job at a vast, chaotic emporium of used and rare books called the Arcade, she knows she has found a home. But when Rosemary reads a letter from someone seeking to “place” a lost manuscript by Herman Melville, the bookstore erupts with simmering ambitions and rivalries. Including actual correspondence by Melville, The Secret of Lost Things is at once a literary adventure and evocative portrait of a young woman making a life for herself in the city. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Dear Thing

Author: Julie Cohen

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 1250081505

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 2755

After years of watching her best friends Ben and Claire try for a baby, Romily has offered to give them the one thing that they want most. Romily expects it will be easy to be a surrogate. She's already a single mother, and she has no desire for any more children. But Romily isn't prepared for the overwhelming feelings that have taken hold of her and which threaten to ruin her friendship with Ben and Claire-and even destroy their marriage. Now there are three friends, two mothers and only one baby, and an impossible decision to make... Thought-provoking, heart-rending but ultimately uplifting, Julie Cohen's Dear Thing is a book you won't be able to put down, until you pass it on to your best friends.

The Woman at Number 24

Author: Juliet Ashton

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 147115890X

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 9999

'This brilliantly written and captivating story instantly drew us in and refused to let go. Fresh, funny and utterly fabulous, it’s the perfect holiday read' Heat Meet the residents of number 24 in the warm, witty and wonderful new novel from bestselling author Juliet Ashton. When your marriage falls apart, the last place you'd want your husband to move to is downstairs. Unfortunately for Sarah, up in the eaves at number 24, her ex-husband now lives one floor beneath her with his new wife. Their happiness floats up through the floorboards, taunting her. A child psychologist, Sarah has picked up great sadness from the little girl, Una, who lives with her careworn mother three floors below, but is Sarah emotionally equipped to reach out? The Spring brings a new couple to the house. Jane and Tom's zest for life revives the flagging spirits, and Sarah can't deny the instant attraction to handsome Tom. Having seen at first hand what infidelity does to people, she'll never act on it ... but the air fizzes with potential. The sunshine doesn't reach every corner of number 24, however. Elderly Mavis, tucked away in the basement, has kept the world at bay for decades. She's about to find out that she can't hide forever. Juliet Ashton weaves a story of love, friendship and community that will move you to laughter and to tears. Think Cold Feet meets David Nicholls, with a dash of the joy of Jill Mansell added for good measure. What people are saying about The Woman At Number 24: 'Emotion, laughs and mystery, I simply adored every minute of reading it' Netgalley reviewer 'Loved it. Feels fresh and new and exciting hearing about the different lives of 24. I'm intrigued and fascinated by the characters' Natalie Ross, Netgalley reviewer 'Wow! Just a beautiful read, like a breath of fresh air. Very heart warming and easy to read. A great 5 Stars from me!' Netgalley reviewer 'This is a great book with a varied ensemble cast of characters and many inter-twining story lines' Netgalley reviewer 'An absorbing story full of wonderful moments ...This was my first Juliet Ashton book to read and I really fell in love with her accurate, vivid and flowing writing' Netgalley reviewer 'Fun read with captivating characters. I did not expect the plot twist involved and really enjoyed reading this overall. Read it in one evening' Netgalley reviewer 'We watch as friendships blossom, a romance evolves and there is a good, unexpected twist towards the end. A lovely, heartwarming read' 5*, Netgalley reviewer 'A wonderful book that I would highly recommend' Netgalley reviewer 'Fantastic ... great characters who live in one big house. You will absolutely love this book' Netgalley reviewer 'This book is like wrapping yourself up in a blanket on the sofa and watching your favourite film. Warm, heart-felt and witty' Netgalley reviewer

The Particular Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

Author: Ruth Hogan

Publisher: Two Roads

ISBN: 9781473669000

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 2507

Loved Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things? Keep on reading... Masha is drowning. Once a spirited, independent woman with a rebellious streak, her life has been forever changed by a tragic event twelve years ago. Unable to let go of her grief, she finds solace in the silent company of the souls of her local Victorian cemetery and at the town's lido, where she seeks refuge underwater - safe from the noise and the pain. But a chance encounter with two extraordinary women - the fabulous and wise Kitty Muriel, a convent girl-turned-magician's wife-turned-seventy-something-roller-disco-fanatic, and the mysterious Sally Red Shoes, a bag lady with a prodigious voice - opens up a new world of possibilities, and the chance to start living again. Until the fateful day when the past comes roaring back... In the vein of her bestselling debut The Keeper of Lost Things, Ruth Hogan's second novel introduces a new cast of wonderful characters, both ordinary and charmingly eccentric, who guide us through a moving exploration of the simple human connections that make life worth living. Praise for The Keeper of Lost Things, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick 2017 'This is the first book I read in 2017 - and if another as good comes along in the next 12 months, I'll eat my special gold reviewing spectacles' Daily Mail 'A gem' Huffington Post 'Exquisite' The Lady 'Delightful' Helen Simonson, author of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand

The Luster of Lost Things

Author: Sophie Chen Keller

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0735210780

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 3961

"A boy with an uncanny ability to find lost objects must embark on his most important search yet in order to save his mother's enchanted dessert shop, the only place he's ever called home. There's only one place in the world that lonely twelve-year-old Walter Lavender Jr. feels at home: The Lavenders, his mother's unusual West Village dessert shop ... When the mysterious and magical Book at the heart of the shop vanishes and a landlord threatens closure, it's up to Walter to find the Book and save the shop. Despite--or because of--a communication disorder that renders him speechless and friendless, Walter has a special ability to find lost things. In fact, the only thing he's failed to find is his father, a pilot lost in a presumed plane crash at sea before Walter was born. Accompanied by Milton, his best friend and overweight golden retriever, Walter's quest will take him around and under New York City, into subway tunnels and soaring over Central Park, from bottle collecting in Chinatown to racing through the Met, and introduce him to the extraordinary and forgotten people of this fantastical city. Along the way he will discover his voice and learn what it means to truly be found"--

Miss Boston and Miss Hargreaves

Author: Rachel Malik

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0241976103

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 8598

'A surprisingly touching account of hidden lives forced out of the shadows' Sunday Times 'So lovely, gentle yet enthralling' Claire Fuller When Rene Hargreaves is billeted to Starlight Farm as a Land Girl, far from the city where she grew up, she finds farmer Elsie Boston and her country ways strange at first. Yet over the days and months Rene and Elsie come to understand and depend on each other. Soon they can no longer imagine a life apart. But a visitor from Rene's past threatens the life they have built together, a life that has always kept others at a careful distance. Soon they are involved in a war of their own that endangers everything and will finally expose them to the nation's press and the full force of the law.

The Lost Queen

A Novel

Author: Signe Pike

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1501191438

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 3162

Compared to Outlander and The Mists of Avalon, this thrilling first novel of a debut trilogy reveals the untold story of Languoreth—a forgotten queen of sixth-century Scotland—twin sister of the man who inspired the legend of Merlin. I write because I have seen the darkness that will come. Already there are those who seek to tell a new history... In a land of mountains and mist, tradition and superstition, Languoreth and her brother Lailoken are raised in the Old Way of their ancestors. But in Scotland, a new religion is rising, one that brings disruption, bloodshed, and riot. And even as her family faces the burgeoning forces of Christianity, the Anglo-Saxons, bent on colonization, are encroaching from the east. When conflict brings the hero Emrys Pendragon to her father’s door, Languoreth finds love with one of his warriors. Her deep connection to Maelgwn is forged by enchantment, but she is promised in marriage to Rhydderch, son of a Christian king. As Languoreth is catapulted into a world of violence and political intrigue, she must learn to adapt. Together with her brother—a warrior and druid known to history as Myrddin—Languoreth must assume her duty to fight for the preservation of the Old Way and the survival of her kingdom, or risk the loss of them both forever. Based on new scholarship, this tale of bravery and conflicted love brings a lost queen back to life—rescuing her from obscurity, and reaffirming her place at the center of one of the most enduring legends of all time.

Surrounded by Water

Author: Stephanie Butland

Publisher: Bantam Press

ISBN: 9780593071557

Category: Husbands

Page: 320

View: 8326

Elizabeth's world is turned upside down when her husband dies in a tragic drowning accident. How typical of her kind, generous husband - a respected police officer - to sacrifice his own life saving a complete stranger's. Or so she thinks. What exactly was her husband doing at the lake that night? And what if his death isn't the most difficult thing she will have to deal with? Elizabeth must face the consequences of her husband's actions. As she does so, it seems that the end of Mike's life is only the beginning of his wife truly getting to know him.

All the Lost Things

Author: Kelly Canby

Publisher: Peter Pauper Press, Incorporated

ISBN: 9781441318046

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 2196

After discovering a mysterious place of lost things, a spunky girl named Olive gives unique gifts to her family, saving her last present--hope--for the world.

The Tyranny of Lost Things

Author: Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781912240142

Category:

Page: 320

View: 4007

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

Author: Kate DiCamillo,Bagram Ibatoulline

Publisher: Candlewick Press

ISBN: 076364367X

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 210

View: 4830

Edward Tulane, a cold-hearted and proud toy rabbit, loves only himself until he is separated from the little girl who adores him and travels across the country, acquiring new owners and listening to their hopes, dreams, and histories. Jr Lib Guild. Teacher's Guide available. Reprint.

The Trouble with Goats and Sheep

A Novel

Author: Joanna Cannon

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 150112191X

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 1311

“I loved this book. It's one of those books that you just want to give to everybody.” —Nancy Pearl on NPR’s Morning Edition “An astute, engaging debut” (Publishers Weekly), The Trouble with Goats and Sheep is a quirky and utterly charming tale of a community in need of reconciliation and two girls learning what it means to belong. England, 1976. Mrs. Creasy is missing and the Avenue is alive with whispers. The neighbors blame her sudden disappearance on the heat wave, but ten-year-olds Grace and Tilly aren’t convinced, and decide to take matters into their own hands. Spunky, spirited Grace and quiet, thoughtful Tilly go door to door in search of clues. The cul-de-sac starts to give up its secrets, and the amateur detectives uncover more than they ever imagined. A complicated history of deception begins to emerge—everyone on the Avenue has something to hide. During that sweltering summer, the lives of all the neighbors begin to unravel. The girls come to realize that the lies told to conceal what happened one fateful day about a decade ago are the same ones Mrs. Creasy was starting to peel back just before she disappeared... “A thoughtful tale of loyalty and friendship, family dynamics and human nature” (Kirkus Reviews), this glorious debut is part coming-of-age story, part mystery. The Trouble with Goats and Sheep radiates an unmistakable warmth and intelligence and is “rife with tiny extraordinaries” (The New York Times Book Review). “Joanna Cannon is an author to watch” (Booklist, starred review).

The Keeper of Lost Causes

A Department Q Novel

Author: Jussi Adler-Olsen

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0452297907

Category: Fiction

Page: 407

View: 5474

Chief detective Carl M²rck, recovering from what he thought was a career-destroying gunshot wound, is relegated to cold cases and becomes immersed in the five-year disappearance of a politician.

Find eBook